Home Conferences Membership Awards Advocacy Links
IPC Award


The Indigenous Peoples' Counsel designation (I.P.C.) is awarded each year to an Indigenous lawyer in recognition of outstanding achievements in the practice of law. In particular, the I.P.C. award takes into account the manner in which the individual pursues the goals and objectives of the IBA and serves his or her community and the Creator with honour and integrity. Nominations are due on June 30th each year, and the award is presented at the IBA Annual Conference in October.



The award recognizes an Aboriginal lawyer for outstanding achievements in the practice of law. In particular the award takes into account the manner in which the individual has pursued the goals and objectives of IBA and has served his or her community and the Creator with honour and integrity.


In order to be eligible for an I.P.C. designation, nominated persons must be:

  • an Aboriginal person (Indian, Inuit or Métis)
  • a graduate from a law school

Note that I.P.C. designations are not awarded posthumously.


The award takes the form of a framed and embossed I.P.C. Certificate, along with a small gift, to be granted at the annual conference of the IBA.

Nomination Procedure

Only members of the IBA can nominate persons for the award. The persons nominated need not be paid members of the IBA but they must meet the I.P.C. criteria.

- Nominations must be accompanied by two letters of support from members of the IBA stating reasons for the candidates nomination
- A concise curriculum vitae of the nominee
- Articles and testimonials will be considered but not required
- All supporting documents must accompany the nomination
- Nominations will stand for one year only

Awards Committee

The award is administered by the Board of Directors of the IBA. The names of the nominees are submitted to the Board, no later than June 30th each year, unless the IBA Board sets an alternative deadline for nominations. The Board will then forward the nominations to a joint Awards Committee of previous I.P.C. recipients and Board members. The decision of the Committee is final.

The Awards Committee will include the current Board of Directors of the IBA and the seventeen current  I.P.C members: J. Wilton Littlechild, Roberta Jamieson, Paul L.A.H. Chartrand, David C. Nahwegahbow, Delia Opekokew, James [Sákéj] Youngblood Henderson, Don Worme, Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafonde, Roger Jones, Darlene Johnson, Mark Stevenson, C. Murray Sinclair, Jean Teillet, John Borrows, Dianne Corbiere, Eileen Sasakamoose, Kimberly R.Murray, Val Napoleon and Candice S. Metallic.

The person selected for the designation of I.P.C. will be announced at the IBA Annual Fall Conference banquet in October of that year.

Please submit nominations to:

Anne Chalmers
70 Pineglen Crescent
Ottawa, ON
K2G 0G8
Email: achalmers@indigenousbar.ca


President Message
Board Members
News and Events
By Laws
Next Conferences
Past Conferences
Join Us
Member Only Resources
Contact Us
Donation to IBA
IPC Award
Awards of Distinction
International Law
Legislation Watch
Member Resource
Accessing Justice and Reconciliation